Does Non-Celiac Gluten Intolerance Actually Exist?

Hi Everyone!

This is my reaction video to the recent study trending about gluten intolerance. As you can see by the look on my face, I’m not a happy camper about this study, because it is wrongfully being used to justify gluten in the diet. Watch my video to find out why.

7 responses to “Does Non-Celiac Gluten Intolerance Actually Exist?

  1. I agree with you 110%…there has been so much marketing around “whole wheat fiber is GREAT for you!” etc, etc, that so many people can’t get that out of their heads. I don’t have celiacs, but I most certainly have problems with wheat. For years I’ve had bowel issues of constipation rotating with diarrhea in a vicious cycle (TMI, sorry), and any time I assure I remove wheat for long periods of time, everything regulates and is blissfully normal. If I introduce wheat back in, even by accident or in small amounts, the problems return.

    • Oh yeah! The fees times that I have eaten it in the past few years have been miserable. My belly blows up like I’m pregnant for about 10 weeks 😦 I feel like being wheat free is even tougher than being vegan nowadays!

    • I hear you. My personal experience with gluten free was dropping Apx 70lbs in 6 months. I also confirmed recently that this study was funded my big wheat! Grrr… So upsetting.

  2. I bake whole wheat bread but from a wild starter. The long fermentation of the grains makes them more digestible and reduces the gluten. I have a neighbor who cannot tolerate wheat at all, but she can eat this type of bread (i.e., real bread). Commercial bread (what most people eat) is crap and isn’t fermented. What do you think?

    • Hrmm, this is interesting, but it is where the individual nature of nutrition comes into play. Some people can tolerate a little bit of gluten, but some people can’t. It’s kind of something you have to play around with. Unfortunately, the only way to know if you are someone who can tolerate gluten very well is eliminating it from your diet for 6 months (yes that’s the time it can take for gluten to completely clear your system. It’s a very big particle.) Then, you can reintroduce and see your reaction.

      The second problem is due to the nature that the carbohydrate in wheat is processed by the body. If you suffer from diabetes, hypoglycemia or hyperglycemia eating wheat products is extremely hazardous to your health, and unfortunately there is no way around this.

      When you make something with love it can nourish people in so many other ways. So, unless your neighbor is a celiac patient or a diabetic I would say keep doing what your doing. Not everyone needs to be in a peak level of performance 100% of the time. If your neighbor wants to eat bread, it sounds like you’re doing the best you can do with what you have.

Leave a Reply

